Monthly list: 5 kitchen utensils I can’t live without

It’s been almost 10 years since I left my parents’ house to study and live in Rome and in this long period I lost the count of all the places I relocated to. Stressful, I know. Every time there’s infinite list of items to pack and ship because, let’s face it, I have some weird emotional attachment to some objects and I’m not the type who likes to buy the same stuff over and over, and then throw them away. I actually prefer to splurge in order to foster my pathological addiction for travels and dinners out. I need help, I’m aware of it.

However, in the jungle of lists of items that must be in my new house, here is the top five kitchen utensils I could never live without them.

  • Wooden spoon – This is my saving grace. I can’t even think of cooking without it. There’s always the normal spoon, or a fork, you would argue, but seriously, the sound of stainless steel cutlery scratching the bottom of the pan, sends shivers down to my spine. Not to mention it’s likely to ruin the pan if this is non-stick.
  • Kitchen knife – We are talking about basics, right?
  • Cutting board – Same here. Plus, you don’t want to ruin your kitchen countertop. Especially if you paid a security deposit to the owner of the house.
  • Colander – First of all, I need it for pasta, but practically I do everything with it: wash vegetables and fruit; leave my food to slowly defrost in there; drain water in veggies (boiled spinach or cucumber, courgettes, aubergine covered in salt); use it as a bowl to momentarily set aside non-liquid food.
  • Ginger/garlic grater – ok ok, I know, this is not a common item at all, but after I bought this in Japan, I seriously wondered how I grated my garlic before. I have to admit that since I had this handy tool, I definitely use more garlic in my dishes. Maybe that’s why people keep avoiding me?

In the next few months I’ll be moving again, and this is the only list of essential objects I wrote so far. You can call me lazy, but at least I know my priorities and, for sure, I’m not going to starve because I can cook as soon as I move to the new place, thanks to my essential kitchen utensils! I’m a person who’s happy with simple things afterall.

Disclaimer: All images are copyrighted by their respective owners unless otherwise stated. Links/Credits are provided via click-through link or caption.  Clicking the link of the image will lead you to its source.

And now in Italian.

Sono passati quasi 10 anni da quando ho lasciato la casa dei miei genitori per andare a studiare e vivere a Roma e in questo lungo periodo ho perso il conto di tutti i traslochi e le città in cui mi sono trasferita. Ogni volta è sempre più stressante. Ogni volta che ci sono liste infinite di cose da imballare e spedire perché, diciamocelo, ho qualche strano attaccamento emotivo ad alcuni oggetti e poi, non sono il tipo che ama comprare le stesse cose più e più volte e poi abbandonarle ogni volta che mi sposto. In realtà preferisco scialacquare i miei pochi, miseri euro nella mia patologica passione per viaggi e cene fuori. Ho bisogno di aiuto, ne sono consapevole.

Comunque, nella giungla di liste di oggetti che devono per forza essere nella mia nuova casa, ecco i cinque utensili da cucina di cui non potrei mai fare a meno.

  • Cucchiaio di legno – la mia salvezza. Non posso nemmeno pensare di cucinare senza. C’è sempre il cucchiaio normale, o una forchetta, si potrebbe obiettare, ma seriamente, il suono delle posate che graffiano il fondo della padella mi fa venire i brividi alla schiena anche solo a pensarci. Per non parlare del fatto che è quasi sicuro che la padella si rovini se è antiaderente.
  • Coltello da cucina – stiamo parlando di strumenti essenziali, giusto ?
  • Tagliere – stessa cosa, non vorrete mica rovinare il piano della cucina? Soprattutto se avete pagato un deposito cauzionale al proprietario di casa.
  • Scolapasta – prima di tutto è necessario per scolare la pasta, ma praticamente lo uso per tutto: lavare verdura e frutta; lasciare il cibo a scongelare lentamente; drenare l’acqua nelle verdure (  tipo spinaci bolliti o cetrioli, zucchine, melanzane da spurgare); o semplicemente usarlo come una ciotola in mancanza d’altro.
  • Grattugia aglio/ zenzero – ok ok, lo so, questo non è un oggetto comune, ma dopo averlo comprato in Giappone, mi sono seriamente chiesta come avessi grattugiato l’aglio in tutti questi anni. Devo ammettere che da quando ho il mio grattugia aglio giapponese uso molto più l’aglio nei miei piatti. Forse è per questo che la gente mi evita?

Nei prossimi mesi mi trasferirò di nuovo, e questa è l’unica lista di oggetti che porterò sicuramente con me. Potete anche dire che sono pigra, ma almeno so che non morirò di fame perché posso cucinare subito, lo stesso giorno del trasloco, grazie ai miei indispensabili utensili da cucina! Dopotutto, sono una persona che diventa felice con poco.

Disclaimer: tutte le foto sono protette da copyright e restano di proprietà dei loro autori. Cliccando sulla foto si potrà accedere direttamente alla sua fonte.

 

 

Leave a Reply

