January’s list: the top 5 eating experiences to have at least once

Usually as the new year begins, we make a lot of resolutions that -let’s be honest- we hardly ever respect, but I would lie if I said I didn’t make an evaluation of last year and what I want in the future, not necessarily in 2014. I thought about an uncountable number things, and among the less serious ones there is, of course, eating experiences it would be nice to have in my lifetime.

So, here we are with my January’s top 5, actually in this case a bucket list. Don’t worry, there’s nothing weird, at least I hope.

1. Eating at Jiro’s, the best sushi restaurant in the world. Extremely expensive, I know, but food critics say the experience is worth every single penny. Besides, if Katy Perry dines at Jiro’s, why can’t I? I know, don’t answer.

Photo: @katyperry

Photo: @katyperry

2. Ordering a massive burger and giant milkshake at a vintage American diner. This might not sound special but, as European who hasn’t set a foot in the US yet, I always saw Diners in movies and I kind of want to feel like in a scene of Back to the Future.

3. Trying Pierre Hermé’s desserts as they are often described to have the perfect flavour.

Photo: Yuichi Sakuraba

Photo: Yuichi Sakuraba

4. Eating Magnolia Bakery’s cupcakes.

5. Doing an Italian food tour where I can try a couple of typical recipes for each region.

If my wallet allows me, my resolution for the near future is to travel as much as I can, in order to satisfy all my cravings, knowledge and emotions. Yes, emotions, just like when I was moved to tears after tasting the real sushi at Tsukiji market, or when I was treated to a Michelin starred restaurant for the first time last year. Am I a hopeless romantic? You bet, but let’s not talk about me now, because I’m interested to know the eating experiences you’d love to have in your lifetime. So, please, leave a comment.

Disclaimer: All images are copyrighted by their respective owners unless otherwise stated. Links/Credits are provided via click-through link or caption.  Clicking the link of the image will lead you to its source.

 

And now in Italian.

Di solito, con l’inizio del nuovo anno siamo propensi a fare i così detti “buoni propositi” che, siamo onesti, non rispettiamo quasi mai. Mentirei se dicessi che non ho fatto un bilancio dello scorso anno e di quello che vorrei per il mio futuro, non necessariamente per 2014. Ho perso il conto delle cose a cui ho pensato, ma tra le meno serie ci sono le esperienze culinarie che mi piacerebbe fare almeno una volta nella vita.

Quindi, ecco la mia lista. Non c’è niente di strano, o almeno credo.

  1. Mangiare il miglior sushi del mondo da Jiro, costosissimo, ma i critici dicono che vale ogni centesimo speso. E poi, se ci va Katy Perry, perché non posso andarci io? Ok, lo so il perché.

  2. Ordinare un hamburger e un milkshake giganti, in un diner americano vintage. Lo so, non suona come una cosa particolare, ma per me che non ho mai messo piede negli Stati Uniti, sarebbe come ritrovarsi in un film, come essere in una scena di Ritorno al Futuro.

  3. Assaggiare i dolci di Pierre Hermé, perché si dice che il loro sapore rasenti la perfezione.

  4. Provare le cupcakes di Magnolia Bakery.

  5. Fare un tour delle regioni italiane, assaggiando più di un piatto tipico per ognuna.

Se le mie finanze lo permetteranno, il mio proposito per il futuro è di viaggiare il più possibile, per soddisfare la mia fame di cibo, conoscenza ed emozioni. Sì, emozioni, come quando ho provato il vero sushi al mercato di Tsukiji e mi sono commossa, oppure la prima volta che ho mangiato in un ristorante stellato. Sono un’inguaribile romantica? Ci potete scommettere, ma basta a parlare di me, perché vorrei sapere quali sono le esperienze culinarie che vorreste fare nella vita.

Lasciatemi un commento.

Disclaimer: tutte le foto sono protette da copyright e restano di proprietà dei loro autori. Cliccando sulla foto si potrà accedere direttamente alla sua fonte.

 

Leave a Reply

