Il Casale di Cleside, a taste of Molise

For my section about tourism in Molise, the first post of 2014 will be about Il Casale di Cleside, a really nice agriturismo in Guardialfiera, near Campobasso, the administrative center of the region.

Agriturismo indicates a rural restaurant/B&B, whose food is prepared only using products from the property’s own garden, orchard and livestock. Eco-friendly and delicious.

Il Casale di Cleside is a restored nineteenth century building, located on a hill and dominating the beautiful scenery of Guardialfiera’s lake (I know, I do not have any pictures, so take my word for it).

fuori

Amazing food in wonderful nature, this is Molise.

Since I was exhausted from eating too much these holidays, I thought I could take it easy and just order a couple of things. However, when the food is good, it’s really hard to say no. And I didn’t say a single word.

I started with hot antipasti, which included: meatballs, scrambled eggs with courgettes,

polpette

smoked bresaola with balsamic glaze,

bresaola

bruschette, frittatata a little piece of artichokes quiche,

frittata

and  meatloaf with peppers and cheese-balls .

polpettone

It goes without saying that I was already stuffed, but I definitely think that if I had stopped at antipasti, I wouldn’t have been considered worthy of my nationality. Therefore, I just couldn’t give up and went for the first and then second course. Unfortunately, I did not take pictures of them as I couldn’t wait to devour them. Do you forgive me?

The first course was some daisy shaped ravioli, filled with walnuts and ricotta, in a butter and sage sauce. Simple and good.

The second course was a juicy beef tagliata, with rocket salad and balsamic glaze dressing.

Wait, there’s always room for dessert, right? So I had pannacotta with berry sauce and my partner had a tiramisu that was just out of this world.

dolce

In conclusion, if you happen to visit Molise, which I totally recommend, you must visit Il Casale di Cleside where you can enjoy a taste of Molise while being surrounded in its nature. Believe me, you won’t regret it.

 And now in Italian.

Per quanto riguarda la mia rubrica di turismo in Molise, il primo post del 2014 tratterà de Il Casale di Cleside, un bellissimo agriturismo a Guardialfiera, provincia di Campobasso.

Il Casale di Cleside è un’azienda agrituristica che si compone di un casale ottocentesco che domina la collina sul lago di Guardialfiera, e di un podere che permette di produrre le materie prime necessarie alla preparazione dei buonissimi piatti proposti nel menù.

Buon cibo e un paesaggio eccellente, questo è il Molise.

Sentivo di aver esagerato durante le feste, così ho pensato di andarci piano e ordinare solo un paio di cose. Però, quando il cibo è ottimo, è difficile limitarsi. E io non l’ho fatto.

Ho iniziato con degli antipasti caldi che comprendevano: polpette al sugo, zucchine e uovo, bresaola affumicata e condita con glassa di aceto balsamico, delle bruschette, una frittatina, un pezzetto di quiche ai carciofi e del polpettone con i peperoni e palline di formaggio.

Non c’è da meravigliarsi del fatto che fossi già piena, ma non sarei stata degna della mia nazionalità se mi fossi fermata all’antipasto, perciò, non mi sono arresa e ho deciso di ordinare primo e secondo. Purtroppo, non li ho fotografati perché non vedevo l’ora di assaggiarli.

Il primo piatto era una pasta ripiena: delle margherite alle noci, con condimento di burro e salvia. Il secondo, un’ottima tagliata di manzo con rucola e glassa di aceto balsamico.

C’è sempre spazio per il dolce, giusto? perciò io ordinato una pannacotta con salsa ai frutti di bosco, e il mio compagno un tiramisu dei più buoni che io abbia mai mangiato.

In conclusione, se vi capita di passare da queste parti, e io ve lo consiglio, dovete visitare Il Casale di Cleside, dove potete gustare sapori tipici ed essere circondati da bellissimi paesaggi. Credetemi, non ve ne pentirete.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

